SINGAPORE, 1 March 2024

The addition of the new flagship service, as well as the modification of GLX’s port rotation serve to improve transit times and increase frequency between the Far East and Middle East.

Effective 2nd April, ESL’s flagship service – the GALEX (GLX) service – will work in tandem with the new COSMOS (CMX) service to enhance connectivity between the Far East and the Middle East. The original GALEX service, which was recently revamped, will undergo modifications to its service rotation.

The CMX service primarily serves ports in Central China, viz. Shanghai and Ningbo, and Da Chan Bay in South China, while the GLX service will serve Busan in South Korea, Qingdao in North China, and Xiamen, Nansha and Da Chan Bay in South China. Both services complementarily reduce transit times from East Asia to the Middle East and increase overall frequency of services between the regions.

The new addition of the CMX service brings the total number of ESL services passing through Jebel Ali to nine, providing customers access to key ports to the Indian Subcontinent and Africa via other ESL main line and feeder services. It is the company’s second service from Central China and third service from South China to the Middle East. The CMX service offers market leading transit time from Central and South China as the service continues to the Middle East without any additional stops on its westbound journey.

With GLX’s revamped service rotation, customers in the Upper Gulf, the Red Sea and Africa will enjoy reduced transit times to key ports in Asia through Jebel Ali.

ESL stays committed to continually improving their existing service offerings to ensure that routes are optimised. The inception of the CMX service and the modification of the GLX service will synchronously enhance the liner’s ability to provide reliable services that simplify their customers’ shipping experience.

COSMOS rotation: Shanghai – Ningbo – Da Chan Bay – Jebel Ali – Sohar – Port Klang – Shanghai

GALEX rotation: Busan – Qingdao – Xiamen – Nansha – Da Chan Bay – Port Klang – Jebel Ali – Dammam – Khor Fakkan – Busan